It never rains but it pours

I can’t quite believe I’m even thinking this, let alone putting it in black and white, but here goes – I miss the English weather. In all the time spent trying to prepare myself for things I might miss from home, not once did I expect this to be one of them. And I’m sure that given a week in England I’d probably be complaining about it again (but then that’s what the English do isn’t it?).

The temperature here is hovering several degrees below freezing, but it’s not the cold that bothers me, it’s how dry the air is. I miss being able to turn a corner and not have the breath taken out of me by the bitterness of the wind. I miss being able to pop to the shops and not come back looking like Rudolph. I miss being able to open a door without getting a static shock every time.

I can’t even remember the last time it rained, certainly not within the last couple of months. In fact, I’ve been here for just over three months and it has only rained twice. However, when it does rain, it isn’t a piddly little “let’s just wait for it to pass over” shower like we have in England, it’s an almighty 15 hour downpour. Better go get practising my rain dance…

Leave a Reply

